College of Natural & Computational Sciences

Gizachew Mulugeta (Ph.D,)  
P.O. Box, 196, Gondar, Ethiopia
Dean of College of Natural and Comptationl Science
Mobile phone: +251936683018
University of Gondar

Message from the Dean

University of Gondar is initially established as Public Health College and Training Center in 1954, and has steadily grown and evolved into one of the largest and most distinguished higher educational institutions in Ethiopia. At this time,  it is a University with four Colleges, three Schools and two Faculties. College of Natural and Computational Sciences belongs here. The college has 8 Departments namely Department of Biology, Department of Biotechnology, Department of Chemistry,  Department of Mathematics, Department of Geology, Department of Physics, Department of Sport Science, and Department of Statstics.

As one of the College of Sciences in the country, it endeavoures to contribute towards the growth and transformation of the country. The College invites all partners, collaborators, alumni, staff and students, to join us and take part and contribute to the growth and development of the nation in general and the collegein particular.

Together, we can make a difference!

Gizachew Mulugeta (Ph,D,)

Dean, College of Natural and Computational Science


During the last decades, the Government of Ethiopia has made enormous efforts to enhance the role of higher education in capacity building and development, and it has been giving great attention to expand and encourage higher education institutions to compete for the “very best minds”. Currently, with intensive expansion of higher education institutions, several young Universities are being opened to meet the needs for qualified professionals in the growing socio-economic development of the country.

University of Gondar is one among other Universities, which have arisen to university level from the previous College, College of Medicine and Health Sciences, with its current status and autonomy in 2004. Accordingly, the College of Natural and Computational Sciences, formerly called Faculty of Applied Natural Sciences, was one of the Foundation Faculties at the inception of the University of Gondar, the then University College of Gondar, in the spring of 2003.

Currently the college has eight departments that has undergraduate and postgraduate programs.



College of Natural and Computational Sciences is dedicated to meet the diverse needs of the country thereby providing demand driven, practical based scientific education, undertaking problem based researches and rendering community services in local and national priority areas.


College of Natural and Computational Sciences aspires to be the leading societal problem solving faculty in science and technology in the country by 2020.

Our core values are:

  • Students First: we serve and help our students as best we can.
  • Quality and speedy service delivery: Premier quality and speedy as a foundation of everything we do is our guiding principle.
  • Solidarity and Teamwork: Enhancing unity, strongly believe in discussion and forming cohesive teams determines our future success. Competitiveness in scholarship and cooperation with other institutions in pursuit of its mission. Thus, we value solidarity and encourage team work in our process.
  • Care for Staff: Our success is based on attracting, hiring, developing and retaining best employees.
  • Proudly community servant: We are not an island. We are part of and live with the community. We feel their pains and share their joy. Therefore, we feel proud to belong to and serve our community.
  • Innovation: We value innovation and advancement of science as we are in a higher education industry where creativity and innovation are not only necessities but also mandatory. Institutional reputability based on successful execution of mission.
  • Committed to Ethics: Compliance to legal, social and professional ethics and norms is crucial for our development and goodwill.
  • Recognition of merit: give recognition or award prizes to persons of outstanding achievements or contributions to society.

MOTTO: We are committed to serving the country!


The long term goals and objectives of the College (not in order of priority) are:

  • Maintain the infrastructure required for high quality research and preparation of students for future graduate school and career pursuits
  • Establish transdisciplinary research and degree programs
  • Upgrade and advance CNCS undergraduate and graduate programs
  • Prepare students for careers
  • Increase CNCS graduation rates
  • Increase CNCS funding base
  • Increase efficiency of current resource management
  • Maintain an appropriate number of high–‐quality staff members
  • Establish a 21st century learning environment

Members of the Academic Unit Council

  • Dr Ayalew Temesgen Dean
  • Dr Mulugeta Aemero Vice Dean
  • Dr Getinet Masresha Head, Department of Biology
  • Dr Nega Berhane Head, Department of Biotechnology
  • Dr Gizachew Mulugeta  Head, Department of Chemistry
  • Mr Wogene Talelign  Head, Department of Geology
  • Dr Litgebih Wondie Head, Department of Mathematics
  • Mr Yonas Endale Head, Department of Physics
  • Mr Yohannes Tadesse Head, Department of Statistics
  • Mr Daniel Agegnehu Head, Department of Sport
  • Prof. Berhanu Andualm Postgraduate Coordinator
  • Dr Worku Negash Eductional Quality Audit & Assurance Coordinator
  • Dr Alemayehu Belay Technology Transfer Coordinator
  • Ms Tigist Jegnaw Community Service Coordinator
  • Mr Tilahun Yohannes Research & Publication Coordinator
  • Mr Yesuf Yeshaw Continuing Education Coordinator

Academic programmes

Department of Biology

Regular program
  • B.Sc. in Biology
  • M.Sc. in Ecological Zoology
  • M.Sc. in Botany
  • M.Sc. in Microbiology
  • PhD in Microbiology
  • PhD in Botany
Extension program
  • B.Sc., in Biology
  • M.Sc. in Microbiology
  • Department of Biotechnology

Institute of Biotechnology

Programs running in the Institute

Regular Program
  • B.Sc. in Biotechnology
  • M.Sc. in Biotechnology (Agricultural Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology, Medical Biotechnology and Industrial Biotechnology)
  • PhD in Biotechnology (Agricultural Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology, Medical Biotechnology and Industrial Biotechnology)
Extension Program
  • M.Sc. in Biotechnology (Agricultural Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology, Medical Biotechnology and Industrial Biotechnology)


Department of Chemistry

Regular Programmes:
  • B.Sc. in Chemistry
  • M.Sc. in Organic Chemistry
  • M.Sc. in Applied Chemistry
Summer Programmes:
  • B.Sc. in Chemistry

Department of Mathematics

Regular  programmes
  • B.Sc. in Mathematics
  • M.Sc. in Mathematics
Extension program
  • M.Sc. in Mathematics

Department of Geology

Regular Program

  • B Sc in Geology

Department of Physics

Regular Programme:
  • B.Sc. in Physics
Extension Programme:
  • M.Sc. in Physics
  • Summer Programme
  • B.Sc. in Physics

Department of Statistics

Regular Programs:
  • B.Sc. in Statistics
  • M.Sc. in Bio-Statistics

Department of Sport Science

Regular Programme:
  • B.Sc. in Sport Science
Extension Programme:
  • B.Sc. in Exercise Science & Health Study
Summer Programme:
  • B.Sc. in Sport Science

Department & Staff Profiles